18+ · tasteful · private
Chai subscription: Chai subscription price, Premium, Ultra and how to cancel
You are looking at a Chai subscription and want the real price before you pay, or you already pay and want to know what you are paying for. Both are harder than they should be, because Chai runs two storefronts with two price lists and two sets of plan names.
Who do you want to text tonight?
You can change her look and personality anytime.
18+ · Your chats are private, encrypted, and never sold.
The short answer
Chai sells two separate subscriptions. In the CHAI app, Apple's US listing shows Premium at $13.99 a month or $134.99 a year and Ultra at $29.99 a month or $19.99 a week. On the web, chai-ai.com sells Chai Web Pro at $9.99 a week or $159.99 a year, after a 24-hour trial that converts to the annual plan. Chai's own FAQ calls the web and the app separate platforms with no data sharing between the two, so treat them as two purchases. Ultra billed weekly comes to $1,039.48 a year. All read first-hand on 16 September 2026.
Every figure on this page was read first-hand on 16 September 2026. App prices come from the In-App Purchases block of Apple's US listing for CHAI, seller Chai Research Corp., taken from the same information block that names the seller. Web prices come from chai-ai.com/pricing and its FAQ page, which says Chai Web Pro and the Chai App are both products of Chai Research Corp. Nothing is copied from a review site, and several of those blend the two price lists into one.
What makes her feel real
A flat alternative to a Chai subscription, the way it should feel
No weekly plans
Gals.ai bills monthly or yearly. There is no weekly line that quietly costs three times the annual price over a year.
One account, one price
Your plan works in the browser on any device, so there is no separate web and app subscription to keep track of or cancel twice.
She texts you first
Built for one companion who remembers what you told her and starts the conversation, not a library of characters you browse.
Side by side
Every Chai subscription line, web and app, annualised, read 16 September 2026
The app rows are the In-App Purchases block of Apple's US listing for CHAI. The web rows are the plan cards on chai-ai.com/pricing and the CHAI MAX answer on chai-ai.com/faq. The last column is what each line costs if you keep it for a year, which is the number the plan cards do not show you.
| Where you buy it | Plan, as Chai labels it | Charged each time | Cost over 12 months |
|---|---|---|---|
| App, Apple US | Premium Subscription (Annual) | $134.99 a year | $134.99 |
| App, Apple US | Premium Subscription (Monthly) | $13.99 a month | $167.88 |
| App, Apple US | Premium Membership | $9.99, billing period not stated | Cannot be worked out from the listing |
| App, Apple US | Ultra Subscription (Monthly) | $29.99 a month | $359.88 |
| App, Apple US | Ultra Subscription (Weekly) | $19.99 a week | $1,039.48 |
| Web, chai-ai.com | Pro, Annual Plan | $159.99 a year | $159.99 |
| Web, chai-ai.com | Pro, Weekly Plan | $9.99 a week | $519.48 |
| Web, chai-ai.com | Pro, Free Trial | Nothing for 24 hours, then $159.99 a year | $159.99 |
| Web, chai-ai.com | CHAI MAX Monthly, add-on for Pro | $90 a month on top of Pro | $1,080 on top of Pro |
| Web, chai-ai.com | CHAI MAX Auto, add-on for Pro | $0.66 per 1,000 tokens generated | Depends on usage |
| App, Apple US | 200 Pieces | $2.79 once | Consumable |
App rows: Apple's US listing for CHAI, app ID 1544750895, seller Chai Research Corp., age rating 18+, build dated 14 September 2026. The listing repeats the $134.99 annual line four times and the $29.99 Ultra monthly line twice under slightly different labels. Web rows: chai-ai.com/pricing and chai-ai.com/faq. The weekly web plan is shown against a struck-through $24.99 marked 60% OFF. All read 16 September 2026, US dollars, before tax.
Chai subscription price in the app: Premium and Ultra
In the CHAI app on an iPhone, Premium costs $13.99 a month or $134.99 a year, and Ultra costs $29.99 a month or $19.99 a week. Those are the lines in the In-App Purchases block of Apple's US listing, read on 16 September 2026, and they are the same lines we read there on 5 September.
The annual Premium plan saves $32.89 against twelve monthly payments, which is 19.6 percent. Ultra has no annual line at all, so it can only be paid monthly or weekly.
Two things in that list are worth knowing before you tap a button. The first is a separate line called Premium Membership at $9.99, with no billing period in its name. Apple does not say whether it is weekly, monthly or an older plan still offered to some accounts, and we are not going to guess. If the app offers you $9.99, read the period on the confirmation sheet before you confirm.
The second is that the listing carries four lines at $134.99 and two at $29.99 under slightly different labels. That usually means more than one product ID for the same plan, from price tests or older app versions, and it is a sign that the offer you see may not be the offer someone else sees.
- Premium monthly: $13.99
- Premium annual: $134.99, saves $32.89 a year
- Ultra monthly: $29.99, no annual option
- Ultra weekly: $19.99
- Premium Membership: $9.99, period not stated on the listing
How those app prices compare with the other big character platform is set out in our Chai pricing vs Character AI pricing comparison.
Chai Web Pro: the separate web subscription at chai-ai.com
Chai also sells a subscription on the web, called Pro, at chai-ai.com/pricing. It has two paid plans: an annual plan at $159.99 a year, which the page describes as just $13.33 a month, and a weekly plan at $9.99 a week. A third card offers Pro free for 24 hours and then $159.99 a year, so the trial converts into the annual plan rather than a monthly one.
The most important sentence about it is on Chai's own FAQ page: Chai Web Pro and the Chai App are both products of Chai Research Corp., and they are separate platforms with no data sharing between the two. Treat them as two different purchases. If you pay on the web, do not expect your app chats or your app subscription to come with it, and the same applies the other way round.
The web and the app are not priced the same way either. The web's annual Pro plan costs $25.00 more than the app's annual Premium plan, and the plans carry different names. Chai does not publish a side-by-side list of what Pro and Premium each include, so we cannot tell you they are the same product at two prices, only that they are two different line items. The web pricing page lists no ads for Pro, while Apple's listing marks the app as containing advertising, which may apply only to free users.
Above Pro sits CHAI MAX, an add-on for Pro subscribers. Chai's FAQ lists two versions: MAX Monthly at $90 a month, which doubles your rate limit, and MAX Auto, which removes rate limits and charges $0.66 per 1,000 tokens generated.
- Web Pro annual: $159.99, shown as $13.33 a month
- Web Pro weekly: $9.99, which is $519.48 over a year
- Web trial: 24 hours, then the $159.99 annual plan
- Web and app are separate platforms with no data sharing, per Chai's FAQ
- CHAI MAX: $90 a month, or $0.66 per 1,000 tokens, on top of Pro
A vendor that does the opposite, charging less on its website than in its app, is Kindroid, whose web and app prices we set side by side.
Chai weekly subscription: why it costs the most
Weekly billing reads as small and adds up to the largest numbers on this page, on both platforms.
In the app, Ultra at $19.99 a week is $1,039.48 over 52 weeks. The same Ultra tier billed monthly is $359.88 a year, so paying weekly costs $679.60 more for the identical plan, 2.9 times as much. Against the $134.99 annual Premium plan, weekly Ultra is 7.7 times the price.
On the web, Pro at $9.99 a week is $519.48 over a year, against $159.99 for the annual Pro plan. That is $359.49 more, 3.2 times as much for the same Pro subscription.
Nothing about a weekly plan is hidden. The price is printed. What makes it expensive is that a subscription you mean to try for a week tends to still be running in month four, and every renewal is a separate small charge that is easy to miss on a statement. If you already pay weekly and intend to keep Chai, moving to the annual plan on the same platform is the biggest saving available to you.
Chai is not alone in this. Candy AI's weekly line costs 6.1 times its annual plan over a year, and PolyBuzz's $4.99 weekly app plan comes to $259.48 a year, while the Ultimate weekly plan some visitors see on its website is $37.30 a week after the first.
- App Ultra weekly: $1,039.48 a year
- App Ultra monthly: $359.88 a year, $679.60 less
- Web Pro weekly: $519.48 a year
- Web Pro annual: $159.99, $359.49 less than weekly
- Moving to annual on the same platform is the biggest saving
The same weekly-billing arithmetic, on a vendor with five billing periods, is on our Candy AI pricing page.
And PolyBuzz, whose yearly plans exist only on its website, is covered in our PolyBuzz subscription price and cancellation guide.
How to cancel a Chai subscription
Cancel where you paid, because Chai's app and web subscriptions are billed by different parties.
If you subscribed in the CHAI app on an iPhone or iPad, Apple bills you. Open the Settings app, tap your name, tap Subscriptions, choose CHAI and tap Cancel Subscription. Deleting the app does not cancel anything.
If you subscribed in the CHAI app on Android, Google bills you. Open the Google Play Store app, tap your profile icon, then Payments and subscriptions, then Subscriptions, choose CHAI and tap Cancel subscription.
If you subscribed to Pro at chai-ai.com, Chai's FAQ says you can cancel at any time from your account settings on the website, and that you keep Pro access until the end of the current billing period.
If you are not sure which you have, look at the charge on your card statement: an app subscription is billed by Apple or Google and says so. If you ever subscribed on both, cancel both, because the two platforms share no data and cancelling one tells the other nothing.
- iPhone app: Settings, your name, Subscriptions, CHAI, Cancel Subscription
- Android app: Play Store, profile, Payments and subscriptions, Subscriptions, CHAI
- Web Pro: account settings on chai-ai.com, access runs to the end of the period
- Deleting the app cancels nothing
- Subscribed on both platforms? Cancel both
For comparison, Character.AI sends web subscribers an emailed link to a separate billing portal, as described in our Character AI cancellation guide.
Chai refund policy: what the app and web terms say
Chai's own published terms do not give you a subscription refund policy at all.
We read both documents on 16 September 2026. The app's End User License Agreement at chai-research.com/app-eula, last updated 28 July 2026, mentions refunds only in the standard app store warranty clause, where the store operator refunds the purchase price if the app fails to conform to a warranty. It has no section on subscriptions, renewals or cancellation. The terms at chai-ai.com/terms, last updated February 2026, do not mention subscriptions, refunds or cancellation anywhere in the text.
In practice that leaves the store. For an app subscription, request a refund from Apple at reportaproblem.apple.com or from Google Play through your order history. Both stores decide refunds under their own policies, not Chai's. For a web subscription, contact Chai through the website, knowing there is no published rule to point to.
The cheaper move is not to need one. If you start the 24-hour web trial, set a reminder, because it converts to $159.99 for a full year, not to a weekly or monthly plan.
- App EULA, updated 28 July 2026: no subscription, renewal or cancellation section
- chai-ai.com terms, updated February 2026: no mention of subscriptions or refunds
- App refunds: request from Apple or Google under their own policies
- The 24-hour web trial converts to $159.99 for a year
The billing patterns worth checking before you give any companion app a card are in our list of AI companion billing red flags.
Who a Chai subscription is worth it for
It depends on what you want from Chai, and the price list tells you who it is built for.
Chai is a character platform: a very large library of community-made bots, quick replies and roleplay across every genre. If you move between many characters, the $134.99 annual Premium plan in the app is a fair price for that library, and it is the plan to pick if you are sure you will still be using it in a year.
It is a weaker buy if what you want is one companion who knows you. A library of characters is built for variety, and Chai's own pricing page leads with the number of characters you unlock rather than with what any one of them remembers about you. If memory of you matters more than variety, you are shopping for a different kind of product.
Whatever you choose, avoid weekly billing unless you genuinely mean to use Chai for a week or two. On both platforms it costs about three times the annual price over a year.
If what you are after is one companion who texts you first and remembers what you told her last month, that is what we built. Gals.ai is a flat subscription from $9 a month billed yearly, with no tokens, no weekly plans and no message count.
- Worth it for: variety across a huge library of community characters
- Best value: the $134.99 annual Premium plan in the app
- Avoid: weekly billing on either platform, unless it is for a week or two
- Weaker fit: one long relationship with a companion who remembers you
If memory is the reason you are looking elsewhere, compare apps like Chai with better memory.
Or judge the conversation directly with a conversation with one of our companions.
How to check every number on this page yourself
Everything here can be re-checked in a few minutes.
For app prices, open the CHAI listing on Apple's US App Store, scroll to the Information block and expand In-App Purchases. Take prices only from the block that names the seller as Chai Research Corp., because the recommended-apps carousel further down the page carries other apps' prices.
For web prices, open chai-ai.com/pricing for the Pro plan cards and chai-ai.com/faq for CHAI MAX and the cancellation answer. An invented path on chai-ai.com returns a 404, so the pricing page is a real page rather than a catch-all.
For the documents, the app EULA is at chai-research.com/app-eula and the web terms are at chai-ai.com/terms. One small detail shows how separately the two are maintained: the app EULA gives Chai Research Corp.'s address in Palo Alto, while the web terms still give an address in Newark, California.
If any number here has changed by the time you read this, the source is right and we are stale.
- App: Apple US listing, Information block, seller Chai Research Corp.
- Web: chai-ai.com/pricing and chai-ai.com/faq
- Documents: chai-research.com/app-eula and chai-ai.com/terms
- Control: an invented chai-ai.com path returns 404
What the rest of the category charges over the same twelve months is in what AI companion subscriptions cost over a year.
What you get with her
- Flat plans from $9 a month billed yearly
- No weekly billing and no tokens
- Messages never counted
- She texts you first and remembers months of conversation
- Runs in the browser, nothing to install
She's already typing.
Pick her, say hi, and start texting in about ten seconds. The demo is your free taste.
People also ask
Chai subscription: what people ask
How much is Chai subscription?
In the app, Chai Premium is $13.99 a month or $134.99 a year and Ultra is $29.99 a month or $19.99 a week, on Apple's US listing. On the web, Chai Web Pro is $9.99 a week or $159.99 a year. All read 16 September 2026, before tax. The web and app subscriptions are separate purchases.
How much is Chai Ultra?
$29.99 a month or $19.99 a week on Apple's US listing, read 16 September 2026. There is no annual Ultra plan. Paid weekly for a year, Ultra comes to $1,039.48, which is $679.60 more than the same tier billed monthly and 7.7 times the $134.99 annual Premium plan.
Is Chai subscription weekly?
It can be. The app sells Ultra weekly at $19.99 and the web sells Pro weekly at $9.99, alongside monthly and annual options. Weekly is the most expensive way to pay on both platforms: $1,039.48 or $519.48 over a year, against $134.99 or $159.99 for the annual plans.
How do I cancel my Chai subscription?
Cancel where you paid. On iPhone: Settings, your name, Subscriptions, CHAI, Cancel Subscription. On Android: Play Store, profile, Payments and subscriptions, Subscriptions. For Chai Web Pro, cancel in your account settings at chai-ai.com; Chai's FAQ says Pro stays active until the end of the billing period.
Can I get a refund on Chai?
Chai's own documents do not offer one. Its app EULA, updated 28 July 2026, and its web terms, updated February 2026, contain no subscription refund policy. For an app subscription, request a refund from Apple or Google under their own rules. For a web subscription there is no published rule to rely on.
Does Chai Web Pro work in the Chai app?
Do not count on it. Chai's own FAQ says Chai Web Pro and the Chai App are separate platforms with no data sharing between the two, although both come from Chai Research Corp. Treat a web subscription and an app subscription as two different purchases, and cancel each one where you bought it.
Is Chai free?
Chai has a free tier, and the web offers Pro free for 24 hours. That web trial converts to the $159.99 annual plan unless you cancel, and Apple's listing marks the app as containing advertising. Chai's own safety page also says that in some regions using the service requires a paid subscription.
Is Chai premium worth it?
For variety across a very large library of community characters, the $134.99 annual Premium plan is fair value if you will stay a year. For one companion who remembers you, it is a weaker fit, because Chai is built around breadth. Avoid weekly billing unless you only want a week or two.
Good to know
Questions about your chai subscription
Start now
Every Chai subscription line from Apple's listing and Chai's own web pricing page, what each costs over a year, and how to cancel. Meet her above and see for yourself.
18+ · Private and discreet. No real photos, ever.